Writers & Lovers by Lily King: Book Review

Writers & Lovers is the story of Casey Peabody, who recently lost her mother, has defaulting student loans, is struggling to finish her novel she’s been writing for six years, and her in and out relationships with two men at the same time. The book precisely represents the life of a thirty-year-old woman in mess, the loss and love she has experienced, her struggle to attain her aspirations all together dealing with chaos in her life.

IMG_20200606_165830831-01

Well, I found the first part to be slow; it only started making sense in the second part. The plot is good, all characters are well developed but her writing in this book is stiff; it took me a fair amount of effort to get in the reading flow. I couldn’t connect with Casey, felt nothing while reading about her. Honestly, it is kind of boring. However, I enjoyed the parts where she quotes different writers and reading, the books she loved, and the bookish references.

Writers & Lovers was an okayish read for me. I’m not sure if I would recommend it. But, with so many positive reviews out there, I might ask you to pick up the book to know it by yourself.

 

Have you happened to read this book? Or thinking of it lately?

Do share your thoughts in the comments below.

 

-Harshita

 

Title: Writers & Lovers

Author: Lily King

Publisher: Picador Books

Publishing Date: March 2020

My Rating: 3 stars

Links: Goodreads Instagram Twitter Facebook

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Writers & Lovers by Lily King: Book Review

Leave a comment