Scent of a Story by Shankar Ghosh: Book Review

Title: Scent of a Story: A Newspaperman’s journey

Author: Shankar Ghosh

Publisher: HarperCollins India

Publishing Date: 17th July 2018

My Rating: 4 stars

Links: Amazon Goodreads Instagram Twitter

Scent of a Story is a biography of Dr Surendra Nath Ghosh, the first Indian editor of the second oldest English newspaper in India, the Pioneer and also the longest serving editor. The book has been written by Shankar Ghosh from the point of view of Dr S.N. Ghosh that is in first person.

Dr. S.N. Ghosh’s life as the editor of the Pioneer was certainly the story to read and to know the history of Indian print of those times. As the editor, he wrote the column in Pioneer on the eve of Independence Day in 1947. He was also one of the few newsmen who wrote about Bengal Famine. He also noted the start of Babri Masjid conflict where an idol of Ram Lalla appeared secretly in the mosque. During his editorial times, he reported and witnessed many turning points of Indian Independence movement and of an independent nation.

The author pens the beginning of his father’s career in newspaper and how he attains the position of the first Indian editor of the Pioneer of an Independent nation. This journey of him is undeniably is fulfilling and beguiling.

This biography also offers his personal life incidents and family accounts including stories of his childhood and his mother.

The writing style is descriptive and the words of the author has the charm to entice the readers. No doubt, I was dipped into the book.

IMG_20180826_144843480-01-01

During reading this memoir of S.N. Ghosh, I felt that the biography has less to offer his strong personality as the first Indian editor of the Pioneer and also it was missing out the winning account of his profile at the Pioneer, but more retelling of his personal and family account.

The narration of biography in first person and not from the perspective of Shankar Ghosh, the author of Scent of a Story, was somewhat incoherent. Since the tales have been included from the author’s collection of stories form his father, I felt he should have narrated them from his own perspective.

In nutshell, the book has definitely the requisite appeal to end up in the hands of a reader. And the book does serve its purpose in giving out the peek into the persona of Dr S.N. Ghosh.

 

Have you happened to read this book? or thinking of it lately?

Do share your thoughts in the comments below.

 

-Harshita

 

 

19 thoughts on “Scent of a Story by Shankar Ghosh: Book Review

  1. I feel so so bad about this,but I have to ask you.I had to delete my blog because some weird people started coming.Do you have any of my articles?Like in email?You know,those that you get as a follower?I only need Potter Days Day 6 and 7,Sunshine Blogger Award and One Last Time.So sorry again.

    Like

      1. I cant anymore I did it and it was horrible.My friends helped me,I rewrote some of my articles and those are the ones that are missing.I just go around and ask people for help.You are so kind and a great friend.Thank you.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. It is my favourite!I also really like Tumblr,although I don’t have one!I will probably open it,so you will be able to find me there!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for reading and liking my post. As you can see I’m all about ‘connecting’ and what a great way to do it. I enjoy reading your book reviews and I will try this book, I usually like books that are set in India.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment